Oh, Hi, Not Dead

I don’t know if I said this publicly, but I’ll clear it up now: I don’t post as much this year as I did in 2014 because I’m not really devoting much time to “discovering a culture” this year (i.e., going out, taking trips, walking around aimlessly in Paris). Instead, this is me a majority of the time:

Doug_Homework.gif

It doesn’t help that my program doesn’t have the traditional Toussaint break that most French schools have (like a fall break, sometime around the 1st of November to celebrate All Saint’s Day). It also doesn’t help that I have at least 24 hours of class a week (28 during the weeks that I have labs), which works out to about nine hours more of class than I had during my busiest semesters at NAU.

Luckily, my peers are all super great (which is good, because these are the people that I have to spend those 24 hours a week with), and we mostly have great professors, and I genuinely do like my classes. I also have a pretty great French boy, who came to visit me during his Toussaint vacation.

While he was here, I may have ditched one of my classes to go to the last day of Paris Game Week. It was a bit of a bust for me, personally, since Nintendo didn’t come to Paris this year and I get pretty bad motion sickness with a lot of Play Station games, but I had fun! I got to try out Gravity Rush, as well as a Virtual Reality surf board thing. Gabriel tried out Honored, and we watched some people play the new Final Fantasy demo. All in all, it was a nice afternoon.

We also celebrated Halloween at a Canadian bar called The Moose with a couple of my friends, and I made Gabriel try poutine for the first time.

And then, for Veteran’s Day weekend (Armistice Day weekend in France), I took a trip to the South to visit Gabriel. We started out with a mini road trip along the coast on Friday, complete with a few failed selfies, and then went home and napped. Saturday, we took a trip to an adorable small village called Valbonne, caught up on a show that we started when he was visiting me in Paris, and, yes, napped. And then, on Sunday, we visited Antibes, and I got a tiny bit of studying done. I may have slept for a total of 24 hours last weekend, which was glorious after a very, very sleep-deprived week of classes.

Here’s to feeling good as new, just in time for the last two and a half weeks of the semester! 🙂

Leave a comment